You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.

SGC International Awards

Image credit: Louise Fisher, SGCI Graduate Fellow 2018, “24/7 Interior #2″ (detail). Archival Pigment Print, Woodcut on Awagami Kozo, 36×24”, 2019.


The Lifetime Achievement in Printmaking Award

The Lifetime Achievement in Printmaking Award is given annually to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the professional development of printmaking as a fine art. This is the only SGCI award that may be given posthumously. Nominations are solicited from the conference host institution only and accepted by the SGCI Awards Committee.

2020: Consuelo Gotay
2019: Alison Saar
2018: Jaune Quick-To-See-Smith
2017: Sue Coe
2016: James Rosenquist
2015: Red Grooms
2014: Kathan Brown
2013: Lesley Dill
2012: Esther Sparks, Joan Mitchell

2011: Hung Liu
2010: Judy Pfaff
2009: Leonard Lehrer
2008: Kerry James Marshall
2007: Xu Bing
2006: Warrington Colescott
2005: William Wiley
2004: Chuck Close

The Printmaker Emeritus Award

The Printmaker Emeritus Award is given annually to a senior printmaker of established reputation, one whose career is an established fact rather than of promise. However, no specific age is fixed. The candidate’s primary area of artistic endeavor should be in the field of printmaking—and may include related media such as papermaking or artist’s books—whether as a practitioner, educator or administrator. Members, submit your nominations to the SGCI Awards Committee here!

2020: Nelson Sambolín
2019: Judy Youngblood
2018: Dennis B. O’Neil
2017: Sidney Cross
2016: John Risseeuw
2015: Ruth Weisberg
2014: Wayne Thiebaud
2013: Margo Humphrey, Judith Solodkin
2012: David Driesbach
2011: Luis Camnitzer
2010: Rochelle Toner
2009: Raymond Martin
2008: Helen Frederick
2007: Karen Kunc
2006: Sue Gosin
2005: Elizabeth Catlett
2004: Judith Brodsky
2003: Michael Mazur
2002: Boyd Saunders
2001: Antonio Frasconi
2000: Krishna Reddy
1999: Jules Heller

1998: Clinton Adams, Kenneth Tyler
1997: Donald Saff
1996: Nancy Spero
1995: June Wayne
1994: Garo Antreasian
1993: Robert Blackburn
1992: Lee R. Chesney, Jr.
1991: Warrington Colescott
1990: James Steg
1989: Rudy Pozzatti
1988: Leonard Baskin
1987: Gabor Peterdi
1986: William Walmsley
1985: Constance Forsythe
1984: Corrie McCallum, Sally Frost Knerr
1983: Jacob Kainen, Prentice Taylor, James Lesesne Wells
1982: Alexander Hogue, Maricio Lasansky, Dole Reed
1981: Maltby Sykes
1980: Caroline Durieux
1979: Richard Zoellner
1978: Elizabeth Verner O’Neil

The Excellence in Teaching Printmaking Award

The Excellence in Teaching Printmaking Award is given annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to teaching printmaking and has demonstrated excellence in his or her own creative work. Members, submit your nominations to the SGCI Awards Committee here!

2020: Sean Caulfield
2019: Carolyn Muskat
2018: Melanie Yazzie
2017: Norm Wagner
2016: Tom Prochaska and Christy Wyckoff
2015: Walter Jule
2014: Fred Hagstrom
2013: Frances Myers
2012: Kimberly Arp

2011: Peter Marcus
2010: Lois M. Johnson
2009: Virginia Myers
2008: Steve Murakishi
2007: Hugh Merrill
2006: Lynwood Kreneck
2005: Lloyd Menard
2004: Ken Kerslake

The Honorary Member of the Council Award

The Honorary Member of the Council Award is given annually to someone who has performed outstanding service to the SGCI organization. Members, submit your nominations to the SGCI Awards Committee here!

2020: Karin Broker
2019: Jean Dibble and Louise Kames
2018: Beth Grabowski
2017: April Flanders & Susan Goldman
2016: Alicia Candiani
2015: Eun Lee
2014: Mark Hosford, Joseph Lupo
2013: John Risseeuw

2012: April Katz, Anita Jung
2011: Dan Gualdoni, Francesca Hendron-Consagra
2010: Roberta Fallon, Libby Rosof, John Ittmann
2009: Bernie Solomon, Tom Dewey, Roger Steele
2008: Don R. Byrum, Ed O’Neil, R. Olof Sorensen
2007: Carol Pulin
2005: Sydney Cross, Jeanet Strickler-Dreskin, Beauvais Lyons, Joseph Sanders

Student Fellowship Awards

Each year SGCI awards two Student Fellowships, one undergraduate ($500) and one graduate ($1000). Students may self-nominate, but must have a faculty sponsor who will submit a letter of support (nomination), and must be enrolled at the time of application. Applicants and the faculty sponsor must be SGCI members in good standing. Apply for a SGCI Student Fellowship Award here!

2019: Jaz Graf, University of Iowa
2018: Louise Fisher, Arizona State University
2017: Mizin Shin, The State University of New York at Buffalo
2016: Heather Leier, University of Alberta, Edmonton
2015: B.J. Alumbaugh, University of Tennessee/Knoxville
2014: Kaitlyn Gesel, The State University of New York at New Paltz
2013: Jennifer Scheuer, University of Tennessee/Knoxville
2012: Aaron S. Coleman, Northern Illinois University
2011: Taryn McMahon, University of Iowa
2010: Camilla Taylor, California State University in Long Beach
2009: Tate Foley, University of Georgia
2008: Janine Biunno, School of the Museum of Fine Arts Boston
2007: Matthew Carlson
2006: Sherry Black, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
2005: Joel Seah, Syracuse University, New York

2019: Grace Johnson, Indiana University
2018: Jasmine Williams, University of West Georgia
2017: Nicole Soley, Minnesota State University, Mankato
2016: Dana Potter, University of Northern Iowa
2015: Betsy Stout, Indiana University
2014: Izabella Jarvis, Indiana University
2013: Tyna Ontko, Western Washington University
2012: Ryan Kangail, Northern Illinois University
2011: Gaia, Maryland Institute College of Art
2010: Benjamin Love, Boise State University
2009: Carlos Cazares, Kansas City Art Institute
2008: Rachel Gargiulo, School of the Museum of Fine Arts Boston
2007: Elizabeth Jacobson
2006: Richard Gamble, Memphis College of Art
2005: Catherine Meier, University of Nebraska, Lincoln