2025 SGC International Awards

Image credit: Juana Estrada Hernandez, 2020/2021 Graduate Student Fellow. “It began with us”, Mezzotint, Etching, Screenprint, 18 in x 24 in, 2021


SGCI awards two student fellowships annually, one for undergraduates and one for graduates. Nominees not selected for a fellowship may be considered for a Gambin Award or Awagami Paper Award. Professors, mentors, or faculty sponsors can nominate students, who must be informed and collaborate on the nomination process. Both the nominator and nominee must be SGCI members. For full details, see page below

The SGCI Emerging Printmaker Award honors early-career artists showing exceptional promise in printmaking. The Mid-Career Printmaker Award recognizes established artists with significant contributions to the field. The Excellence in Teaching Printmaking Award celebrates outstanding educators with notable artistic achievements. Each winner receives $1,000, conference registration waiver, accommodation, travel allowance, and program participation at the 2026 conference. Self-nomination or nomination of others is accepted. Nominees will be contacted on July 22 for additional information. Both nominator and nominee must be SGCI members. For full details, see page below


Nomination Application Deadline: July 28, 2024
August 30: Finalists Selected by the Awards Nomination Review Panel
September 5 – October 5: Voting by Membership (Emerging Printmaker, Mid-Career, & Excellence in Teaching)  
October 15: All Awardees notified





Announcing the 2025 Awards Nomination Review Panel

Kit MacNeil is a genderqueer and trans artist, educator, and writer living in Toronto, Ontario. MacNeil’s work has exhibited internationally in China, France, Canada, and across the US. Their research has been funded by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, the South Carolina Arts Commission, and the Mark Diamond Research Fund. MacNeil has completed residencies at Tsinghua University, the Western New York Book Arts Center, Open Studio, and the Vermont Studio Center. They earned a BA in Studio Art from the College of Charleston in 2011 and an MFA in Studio Art from the University at Buffalo in 2018. They are the College Printer at Massey College, and teach courses in printmaking and book history at the University of Toronto. 

Aaron is a multi-disciplinary artist, Associate Professor and Kenneth E.
Tyler Endowed Chair at the Herron School of Art and Design in Indianapolis. He
received his MFA from Northern Illinois University in 2013. Aaron has participated in international residencies and exhibitions and has received numerous awards for his work in printmaking, sculpture and installation including 2021 Black Box Press Foundation’s Art as Activism Grant. He is a 2022 Joan Mitchell Foundation Fellowship semi-finalist
and nominee in 2022. In 2023 he was the recipient of the New Voices Fellowship from the International Print Center New York. His work can be found in the collections of The Janet Turner Print Museum, the Ino-cho Paper Museum in Kochi, Japan, The National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, The Yekaterinburg Museum of Art in Yekaterinburg, Russia, the National Library of France, and the Artist Printmaker and Photographer Research Archive among many other public and private collections. Aaron was a co-founder of the Sienna Collective for Students of Color in the Arts at the University of Arizona and in 2021 received the Provost Award for Innovations in
Teaching as well as the College of Fine Arts Undergraduate Mentorship Award.

Luanda Lozano holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Illustration from Parsons The New School of Design in New York.
Her career in printmaking began in the early 1990s at the Robert Blackburn Printmaking Workshop. Luanda was part of the teaching staff at the Bronx River Art Center for almost a decade, where she taught drawing and printmaking. Other places where she has taught include: Center for Contemporary Prints in Norwalk, Connecticut; Pelham Art Center in New York, Escuela de Bellas Artes in Ponce, Puerto Rico, Museum for African Art, New York and Artist Proof Studio in South Africa. She is a founding member of the printmaking group Dominican York Proyecto Grafica (DYPG). Her prints are part of several prestigious collections, among them: Kanagawa Museum Print
Collection in Japan; Museo Nacional del Grabado, Argentina; Varna Museum, Bulgaria; Montclair Art Museum, New Jersey (Robert Blackburn Printmaking Workshop Portfolio 2000); Library of Congress, USA (Robert Blackburn Print Collection); The Smithsonian American Art
Museum  (DYPG portfolio Manifestaciones); The Metropolitan Museum of Art (DYPG portfolios) National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Florean Museum in Maramures, Romania, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, among others. 

The Lifetime Achievement in
Printmaking Award

The Lifetime Achievement in Printmaking Award is given annually to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the professional development of printmaking as a fine art. This is the only SGCI award that may be given posthumously. Nominations are solicited from the conference host institution only and accepted by the SGCI Awards Committee.



Gamblin Awards

This award is presented annually to an outstanding student or students who demonstrate an excellence in printmaking.

 Award Guidelines

This award is presented annually to:

  • One graduate student SGCI member and
  • One undergraduate student SGCI member
  • One emerging artist SGCI member

This award is open to:

  • Artists who use oil-based ink
  • Artists who reside in the continental US or Puerto Rico

These awards are given to runners up in the Student Awards and the Emerging Printmaker Awards.

Awagami Paper Award

This award is presented annually to an outstanding student who best demonstrates the use of paper as an integral part of their printed works. The award of 100 sheets of ‘Awagami Editioning’ washi papers will be shipped directly to the winning student by Awagami Papermill in Japan.

 Award Guidelines

This award is given to the runner up in the Student Award, undergraduate level.